The Republic of Armenia

The Republic of Armenia, short- Armenia, is a state in Western Asia. From a geopolitical perspective, it is located in the Region of Caucasus, and from a perspective of historical geography, in the northern part of the Armenian Highlands, occupying just 1/10 of the historical homeland.

 The Republic of Armenia was proclaimed on May 28, 1918. The Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic was proclaimed in 1920. On August 23, 1990, the parliament declared the independence of the Republic of Armenia, which was confirmed by the referendum of September 21, 1991. Since 2018 Armenia is a parliamentary republic.

 The Republic of Armenia borders with Georgia to the North, Azerbaijan- to the East, the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic- to the South-East, Iran- to the South, Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, which is part of Azerbaijan,- to the South-West, and Turkey- to the West. Doesn’t have access to the sea.

Area– 29743 km² (close to the areas of Belgium and Albania)
Population– 3.0 mln people (as of December 1, 2018)
Capital– Yerevan (as a community)
Official language- Armenian

Official currency- Dram  (international codes- AMD), has been put into circulation since November, 1993

Web domain– .am,
Calling code– +374,
Time zone– GMT+4.

December 21, 1991 Armenia became a member of The Commonwealth of Independent States
March 2, 1992 Armenia became a member of the UN,
January 25, 2001 Armenia became a member of the Council of Europe,
February 5, 2003 Armenia became a member of the World Trade Organization,
Member of the Eurasian Economic Union since January 2, 2015.

© 2010-2022, OST ARMENIA, "Cultural center of the East" NGO/«Արևելքի երկրների մշակույթի կենտրոն» ՀԿ