Artsakh Republic (Nagorno-Karabagh)

The Artsakh Republic or Nagorno Karabagh (Mountain Karabagh) Republic is yet internationally unrecognized Armenian second state in Western Asia. Artsakh is located in South Caucasus geopolitical region, historically it was part of  Armenia Major’s north-eastern states  occupying 1/20 part of our homeland.

The Nagorno –Karabagh Republic was founded in 1991 on September 2 on the territory of former Azerbaijan SSR part Nagorno-Karabagh Autonomy and neighboring Shahumyan region.

On 10 of December referendum was held with attendance of 82,2%  of registered citizens , 99,89% of voters has voted for independence, based on the result of referendum Supreme Council of Nagorno-Karabagh Republic accepted the declaration of independence.

The Nagorno-Karabagh Republic borders with Republic of Armenia in west, in south with Iran, and has borders with Azerbaijan from north and east.  The  Republic has no access to the sea.

Area  – 11458 sq.m. km(As of September 27, 2020).
Population  – 140.000
Capital  – Stepanakert
Official languages: Armenian, Russian

Currency: Artsakh dram, actually Armenian dram is used.

Web domain: .am,
Calling code: +374 47
Time zone: +4 GMT


© 2010-2022, OST ARMENIA, "Cultural center of the East" NGO/«Արևելքի երկրների մշակույթի կենտրոն» ՀԿ